Victorious start into 2022: MCD is TOP 100 innovation leader again

For the 29th time the most innovative companies of the German medium-sized sector were awarded by the competition "TOP 100". In 2022, MCD Elektronik GmbH is one of these innovation leaders for the fith year in succession.

The award

After an independent analysis of Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Franke's team from the Vienna University of Economics and Business, the awards for the innovation leaders were awarded by "TOP 100" mentor Ranga Yogeshwar.

Applications of SME's are evaluated under usage of about 120 pre-defined evaluation parameters. These parameters are separated into the categories "Innovative processes and organization", "Innovation climate" (involvement of employees), "Innovation promoting top management", "External orientation/open innovation" and "Innovation success".

MCD Elektronik GmbH is very proud to be part of this "TOP 100" event for the fith time in a row by five times participation. Numerous world market and national market leaders belong to this group. MCD was able to rely on its innovational power even during that difficult year 2021. Again, there were also valuations of entrepreneurial reactions during the corona crisis. Flexible home office solutions, risk minimization at the headquarters and innovative service concepts convinced the jury. Furthermore, several process innovations were developped, e.g. cooperation workshops with suppliers and customers, "project team" and "conception team" concepts or a six-hours work model. MCD's targeted engagement to research and development and its closeness to its customers has now been rated as above average and rewarded by being named a top innovator again. Whether the best possible rating "A+" can be achieved as in previous years, that will show the following weeks until the detailed results are available.

The ceremony

The TOP 100 award ceremony takes place in June at the German SME Summit at Frankfurt am Main. There is place and time for winning photos with TOP-100 Mentor Ranga Yogeshwar and for awarding the top innovators with the best results. In 2020 and 2021, that was not possible due to the spreading of the corona virus, so the top innovators were honoured via video message.

Also the 2019 ceremony took place in the "Jahrhunderthalle" at Frankfurt. Around 1.300 guests took part at this event, which honored not only the "TOP 100 Innovators" but also the winners of the "TOP CONSULTANT" competition.

Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Franke, scientific director of TOP 100, explained the challenge that the winners of the competition had mastered with the words: "Innovation means restlessness. The TOP 100 companies are therefore constantly creating new products, new services, new business models and new processes. Whoever wants to be an innovation leader must consistently align the company (as a whole) with the innovation target" (source: compamedia).

TOP 100 mentor Ranga Yogeshwar (science journalist and physicist) also confirms this and proudly adds: "Openness to new things, tolerance of mistakes, constant efforts to make things new and different - these are the characteristics of a good innovation culture. A culture that is lived in the medium-sized companies that we distinguish with TOP 100. They are outstanding SME's whose innovative spirit has become part of their DNA. They are farsighted and hands-on entrepreneurs who put innovation first every day" (source: compamedia).

Impressions of the award ceremony 2019 can be found here.

The contest

The company compamedia awards the TOP 100 seal since 1993 to SMEs for special innovative strength and for outstanding innovation successes.

Its scientific leadership is dedicated to Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Franke since 2002. Franke is founder and director of the Institute for Entrepreneurship and Innovation of the Vienna University of Economics and Business.

Ranga Yogeshwar, science journalist and TV moderator, is the mentor of the TOP 100 contest. The Fraunhofer Society for the Promotion of Applied Research and the SME ssociation German Association for Small and Medium-sized Businesses (Bundesverband mittelständische Wirtschaft, BVMW) are TOP 100's project partners. The german journals manager magazin, impulse and W&V support the company contest as media partner. Further information under

Congratulations movie for the TOP 100 award 2022

This video is embedded on YouTube. The data policies of Google apply.
Ranga Yogeshwar with the MCD delegation at the award ceremony 2022. ©KD Busch / compamedia
For the fifth time in succession, the TOP 100 award is presented by MCD Elektronik.
Winning trophies from 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022.

Congratulations movie for the TOP 100 award 2021

This video is embedded on YouTube. The data policies of Google apply.
Business Development Manager Labib Feidy and CEO Bruno Hörter are proudly presenting the fourth TOP 100 award.

Portrait 2021 "The right climate is the key to success"

Download portrait "The right climate is the key to success"

pdf-Datei | 183 kB

Congratulations movie for the TOP 100 award 2020

This video is embedded on YouTube. The data policies of Google apply.
CFO Petra Noske-Mahseredjian and CEO Bruno Hörter with the third award in 2020.

Movie about the TOP 100 awarding

This video is embedded on YouTube. The data policies of Google apply.
From left: Petra Noske-Mahseredjian, Bruno Hörter, Ranga Yogeshwar, Marion Hörter, Joana Jarck and Labib Feidy at the award ceremony in 2019.
©KD Busch / compamedia
Already in 2018 Ranga Yogeshwar presented MCD with the TOP 100 award. ©KD Busch / compamedia

Portrait 2018 "Testing for the future"

Download portrait "Testing for the future"

pdf-Datei | 222 kB